Golf News

Controversy at the Presidents Cup!

The US team have continued their dominating form from day 1 at the Presidents Cup after winning the Saturday four-ball and foursomes sessions. The US have won all sessions thus far for the event and look set to take out the final day as well in the Singles if they keep up their seriously strong form. The US only need 1 more point to secure the trophy, currently leading 14.5 to 3.5! An unbelievable performance so far with many referring to the side as the potentially best team of all time – Big Call! Every player in the US side is currently inside the top 30 in the world at the moment with Phil Mickelson rounding out spot number 30.

The second day was not without controversy however, after Jordan Spieth was penalised for touching Louis Oosthuizen’s ball whilst in motion on the putting surface. Following Louis’ missed attempt at a putt for eagle, his resulting putt coming back for birdie didn’t matter as his partner Jason Day had already secured a birdie, with Spieth and Reed both having putts over 10 feet to drain their attempts at birds to match. Spieth stopped the ball of Oosthuizen in motion and picked it up to give Louis in what he referred to as an attempt to “shut the crowd up”, who were calling for the ball to keep rolling against the International’s favor. A rules official saw this to which the call was made and penalty applied meaning the Internationals won the hole. If you look at the footage below you’ll see that even the Internationals didn’t agree with the ruling, with many labeling its conviction as ridiculous.

 

What did you think of the ruling? Was it fair?

Some exciting match-ups to come from the singles session including Justin Thomas Vs. Hideki Matsuyama, Patrick Reed Vs. Louis Oosthuizen (expect a fiery Reed after today’s controversy), Brooks Kopeka Vs. Adam Scott, and Jordan Spieth Vs. Jhonattan Vegas, just to name a few.

GOLF GODS COORS LATTE TEES!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *