Funny Golf News

Another Rule Breach For Mickelson

Phil Mickelson has once again found himself in trouble with rules officials, this time at The Greenbrier where on the 7th tee block he trampled some fescue and was deemed to be in breach of rule Rule 13-2.

Rule 13-2 stipulates, a player may not improve the area of his intended stance or swing, or his line of play, by a series of actions that includes “moving, bending or breaking anything growing or fixed” and “creating or eliminating irregularities of surface.” Had Mickelson re-teed his ball in a different area of the tee box, where the grass in question wasn’t along his intended line, he would not have been penalized.

Mickelson after consulting with the rules official on site decided to call the penalty on himself which resulted in a double bogey on the 7th and ultimately contributed a closing round of 74, leaving Lefty in a tie for 66th at 1-under for the tournament.

This was Mickelson’s first start since this years controversial U.S Open where he infamously played a moving ball deliberately but Lefty seemingly has bigger things on his mind evident when he shed some light on the incident.

After the round, Mickelson informed the reporters that he was planning to hit a low iron shot on No. 7 that he expects to use frequently over the next two weeks in Scotland and “wasn’t really paying attention or thinking.”

“I just had a few bonehead moves today,” Mickelson said. “It’s just one of those things… A lot of times guys just inadvertently do things, and I just wasn’t thinking.”

Mickelson will now head to Europe to contend the Scottish Open as a lead up to The Open held at Carnoustie this year.